May 27, 2018

Man — the most effective resource

April 19, 2011    ITРаспечатать эту статью

Man — the most effective resource

Now the Internet is one of the fastest growing industry in the world, but at the moment there does not work very many people. At Google employs 25 000 employees, “Yandex», Mail.Ru and Facebook – approximately 2,000 in each, in Twitter – 450. The largest share of Internet traffic in the world provides a maximum of 100 thousand people.

Internet companies prefer to software algorithms. They pay the creators of these algorithms (quite justified), not the performers. But consumers are still people and they can not do without. Between the representations of the algorithm on which query is introduced into the search form, and with what they really want it will still be a large gap, which can not be solved in software. The ideal world of the Internet – this is when the Internet provides an instant answer to any question, and this world can not be built without the efforts of millions of educated people who are not always willing to work for pleasure.

These people already have. Most of the world’s population already knows how to read and write, many of them are still partially or fully unemployed. Many of them are willing to work for little money. For example, they could put in order and sort the information in the network.

Farm content Demand Media books essays answers to popular queries on Google have deleted the authors (“How to roast a chicken?” – Ed.). Trada company pays people for what they guess the popular queries to search engines. Google has invested in Trada, recognizing that some people are able to do better algorithms.

At Amazon.com has a special service called Mechanical Turk (in translation from English. – Mechanical Turk). Different customers place orders for recognition of images or language, translation and phrases, sentences, even creative tasks, such as essays, and put up the price for this job, and anybody can take over execution of this task. Service for many years and there is still a profitable business – the truth value of all orders, proposed at this time a little less than $ 10 thousand set the company resorted to using a living mind, but they do it on what else there is no such algorithm.

Climbed a couple of dozen sites, you can find a lot of things, but not all. For example, it is difficult to lead the way with some conditions on an unfamiliar city, find out how many work to an institution in any country in the world. But somewhere there is people who can do it without even leaving the couch. I wonder how many customers might be in search engines, search engine instead of whether a person responds to a user request. If the answer to the query is correct, then the user pays, say $ 1. Imagine how many jobs would be immediately arose!

Maybe Google will soon and it will find the answer to any question, but it does not solve the problem. Because users are constantly interested in what Google can not find. And to find it needed people. Better wisdom of crowds, can only be wisdom of the crowd, which pays a little money.

Tags: , , , ,

Май 21, 2018

Человек — самый эффективный ресурс

Апрель 19, 2011    ITРаспечатать эту статью

Человек — самый эффективный ресурс

Сейчас интернет является одной из самой динамично растущей отраслью в мире, но на данный момент там работает не очень много людей. В компании Google трудятся 25 000 сотрудников, в «Яндексе», Mail.Ru и Facebook — примерно по 2000 в каждой, в Twitter — 450. Самую большую долю интернет-трафика в мире обеспечивает максимум 100 тыс. человек.

Интернет-компании предпочитают программные алгоритмы. Платят же они создателям этих алгоритмов (весьма оправдано), а не их исполнителям. Но потребители все равно люди и без них не обойтись. Между представлениями алгоритма о том, какой запрос вводят в поисковую форму, и тем, чего они действительно хотят еще долго будет большой зазор, который нельзя решить программным способом. Идеальный мир интернета — это когда интернет мгновенно дает ответ на любой вопрос, и этот мир нельзя построить без усилий миллионов грамотных людей, которые не всегда готовы работать за спасибо.

Эти люди уже есть. Большая часть населения Земли уже умеет писать и читать, при этом многие из них все еще частично или полностью безработные. Многие из них готовы работать за небольшие деньги. Например, они могли бы приводить в порядок и сортировать информацию в сети.

Ферма контента Demand Media заказывает сочинения ответов на популярные запросы в Google у удаленных авторов («Как зажарить курицу?» — прим.ред.). Компания Trada платит людям за то, что они угадывают популярные запросы к поисковикам. Google инвестировал в Trada, признав что кое-что люди умеют делать лучше алгоритмов.

У Amazon.com есть специальный сервис под названием Mechanical Turk (в переводе с англ. — механический турок). Разные заказчики размещают заказы на распознавание картинок или речи, перевода предложений и фраз, даже творческие задачи, сочинения например, и выставляют цена за это задание, а любой желающий может взять за исполнение этого задания. Сервис уже много лет существует и до сих пор является прибыльным делом — правда стоимость всех заказов, предлагаемых на данный момент чуть-меньше $10 тыс. Множество компания прибегают к помощи живого разума, но делают это они от того, что еще нет подобного алгоритма.

Облазив пару десятков сайтов, можно много чего найти, но не все. Например, трудно проложить путь с некоторыми условиями по незнакомому городу, узнать, до скольки работает то или иное учреждение в любой стране мира. Но где-то же есть люди, которые смогут это сделать, даже не вставая с дивана. Интересно, сколько клиентов могло бы быть у поисковиков, будь вместо поисковика человек отвечающий на запрос пользователя. Если ответ на запрос верный, то пользователь платит, скажем 1$. Представьте, сколько рабочий мест сразу бы возникло!

Может быть, вскоре Google сделает и это и будет находить ответ на любой вопрос, но и это проблему вовсе не решит. Потому что пользователей постоянно будет интересовать то, чего Google найти не сможет. И для того чтобы это найти понадобятся люди. Лучше мудрости толпы, может быть только мудрость толпы, которой платит немного денег.

tagi: , , , ,